Sunshine Day, December 1st, 2013

Project Sunshine in effect.
Iggy Pup decided at 8:00AM that we needed to rise, despite the fact that none of us slept all night. The mattress sagged, my pillow poked at my cheeks or the back of my head, and the silence stung the ears like a high frequency siren. Oh the bones groaned. Ohhhhhhh. Ohhhhh.
Even the dogs paced uneasily from room to room. Restless bones. Ohhhhhhh. Ohhhhhhhhhh.

This morning marks a new day, new week, new month, new attitude. Time for Project Sunshine.
Oh I plan on getting all Mary Poppins and Snow White on this house. Whistling will accompany sweeping and mopping. Sad attempts to jump click heals followed by a tip of the hat will surely follow taking out the garbage, recycling, and compost. I’ll sing to the birds as I put some elbow into the squeaky windows. Fresh flowers might even invite me to sit at my desk and organize, enter expenses, and post income to my neat-o system.

At the grocery store my cart shall smile with oranges and grapefruit (most assuredly next to the bottle of vitamin D). Sun-themed songs shall sneak into my mind so I can sit down to create a Sun Run playlist again. My old one got deleted by accident, so again I can seek out “Good Day Sunshine,” “The Sunny Side of The Street,” “Ain’t No Sunshine,” and by allowance, Ben Harper’s “Shimmer and Shine.” Please request others!

By the end of the afternoon, I’ll welcome my evening with a well deserved hot yoga class and perhaps even juice myself some cleansing veggie drink. Clean and shiny inside and out feels good. My bones can sigh with relief. My imagination may race with all the creative story ideas my hands will itch to write instead of listing all the annoying events, work conversations, and undone administrative work poisoning my mind. Tonight the family can sleep soundly with loud slumbering breaths, in lavender scented sheets, and bellies warm with hearty healthy comfort food, and a renewed sense that yes, truly, as long as we stick together, everything is going to be fine. As the Beatles reminded us:

Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
And I say it’s alright

Little darling, it’s been a long cold lonely winter
Little darling, it feels like years since it’s been here
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
And I say it’s alright

Little darling, the smiles returning to the faces
Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been here
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
And I say it’s alright

Sun, sun, sun, here it comes
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes

Little darling, I feel that ice is slowly melting
Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been clear
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
And I say it’s alright, it’s alright
-John Lennon, George Harrison, and Paul McCartney

20131201-104426.jpg

4 thoughts on “Sunshine Day, December 1st, 2013

  1. Thank you! I love them too and I’ve since lost them. ;-( Someday I’ll get them again. I feel like I have to earn them first. The funny thing is they were just $25 at the Community Pharmacy off State St in Madison, not the first place you’d go to get sunglasses. Rather, that’s where you can get your own personal blend of Bach flower remedies or organic makeup. 😉

Feed me feedback

