Middle Day, December 17, 2013

“Three Rules of Work: Out of clutter find simplicity; From discord find harmony; In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.” – Albert Einstein

The sun stretches through this winter sky like a man trying to pry open a steel gate. My dog found the one stripe of sunlight in my office and rolled around in it, tongue lopped over to the side, grin stretching behind floppy ears… Pure joy radiated from his white fur.
My phone is charging on my printer which seems to anxiously await a large mailing project. It knows. Today is going to be a fiercely productive day.
Two pints of coffee went down my pipe like pouring motor oil in a hot thirsty VW beetle on a long road trip. Dishes sit in scalding hot suds. The incense I blindly grabbed from the closet for my office morning ritual was aptly named, “Purification.” Boxes of papers and paid bills sit alongside my desk like worn out casualties of a gruesome relocation. Some day I can spare time to replace them in their proper files. But that day is not today. Today I plan to fill every spare hour in my calendar with prospective client appointments. Every day but the 3 day vacation I am giving myself for Christmas I shall help families to my best ability.
Today I may lose my voice, or feel a raw fingertip from stamping so many envelopes. The chance for paper cuts is high with a mild probably of emotional precipitation. Today my butt might ache for blood circulation and my legs cramp from planting myself so heavily in this old wooden chair. And I will take a hot salty bath by candlelight this evening to reward these minor sacrifices for a job well done. My lungs expect to inhale spicy steam and my hair could care less if it curls or snarls. But my brain will finally sigh a deep sigh and melt in the tub while my worries dissolve.
This day, the middle day, the heart of this week and this month, I own.

Feed me feedback

